Does Jesus tell people to love Him or die?

on

I rarely reblog, but the logic and reasoning of this extremely common misunderstanding of eternity deserves the attention. There will be many, unfortunately, who find themselves in a place they never desired to be all because they allowed their own version to cast shadow over God’s original.
Please consider the questions posed here. Truth is not relative. We can, in our entitlement, decide to form our own gods, but don’t mistake your feebly formed ones for the only God who is. There is only one who has the power to save.

The Isaiah 53:5 Project

image

I got a comment this morning from a skeptic who believes Jesus offers the world an immoral “love me or die” ultimatum regarding Hell, a scripturally inaccurate claim that misrepresents both the true nature of God and the love God showed for us.

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

– Romans 5:8

Since the God of the Bible is all about love, I would reword “love me or die” to the more accurate “chose to love me as I love you, chose to honor me, worship me, and receive my free gift of salvation, or chose to live out your eternity forever separated from all that is good”.

Anyway, denying Hell, not liking the idea of Hell, or objecting to Hell because you believe you are more loving and moral than God doesn’t mean that Hell…

View original post 780 more words

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

