5 Reasons Why You Don’t Believe In God

5 reasons why you don’t believe in God

1. You were taught since you were in elementary school that evolution is true. They have all been telling you about the millions of kajillions of years ago, and you’ve gotten the memo. You’ve been told that your ancesters were primates, and your ancient relatives are just various prehistoric animals. You’ve read the latest Dawkins’ masterpiece of literature, and are well aware that you are a cosmic accident, and have zero purpose. Then why do you have a deep sense that there is more to you than that?

2. You found out pretty quickly, that there were actions and behaviors that you enjoyed performing. Sin is fun. It was ok that people around you were questioning faith and hating religion because it was easier to justify your actions. Lying to your folks, or other adults…Who cares? Sleeping around…Why not? Taking something that doesn’t belong to you…well nobody’s perfect!

3. What other people say about God’s non-existence makes sense, sort of. As you grew older, you heard a number of philosophical and scientific arguments that justify allowing the behavior that you have become accustomed. Someone found a fossil from an age of prehistory? See, God couldn’t have made the world! It might be the missing link? Good, because something has to explain why there are no people in a phase of still evolving, and shut up those Bible believing fundamentalists!

4. The extremes. Life either became so comfortable that you took all credit, or became so uncomfortable that you believe if there was a God He couldn’t possibly exist. You thought, ‘I have made all this money, and I’ve made a life for myself. I’ve attained wealth, and relationships, and contacts. I’ve become someone on my own. If anyone needs a crutch, it’s certainly not me! Furthermore, if there is a God, why do so many bad things happen in the world?!’

5. Truth has been misrepresented as relative, and now its become subjective and unreal. If there is a God, He’s not your truth because what’s true for one person is not true for another. Truth, in your mind, and at least according to “experts”, has become changeable and superfluous, like a bank account, or your relationship status on Facebook.

Check back in for a rebuttal on all five points. I’d like to respectfully, and graciously challenge these reasons, and ask you to do a little digging. Perhaps scientists say more than their science does. Perhaps the great minds of today have more philosophical arguments that don’t prove any more than their own atheistic world-views. Perhaps to know truth, you have to throw out the lies.
Praying for you,
A

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Mindy Button says:

    Here’s the problem: these are the reasons you were told people don’t believe in god and so you parrot them back. Absolutely none of your ‘reasons’ ring true with me. Let me start from the beginning:

    1. Evolution and not believing in god are not mutually exclusive. There are a lot of religious people who accept evolution as fact. You are, like many religious people, conflating evolution with abiogenesis. Please stop doing this. They are not the same thing at all. However, I would like to point out that we know far more about evolution than we do about gravity.

    2. Nobody around me questioned faith. I had some hyper-religious family members but most of the people I grew up around were not religious at all. In fact it wasn’t until I was about 14 that I realised people actually believed the bible to be true. It had nothing to do with ‘sin being fun’ mostly because I don’t accept that there is a thing such as sin. I got in trouble for being naughty, I was rewarded when I was good. I learned that there were consequences to my actions when they hurt other people. People learn through mistakes, regardless of if they are seen as sin or not. I have made plenty of mistakes but I didn’t just go out and commit what religious people consider sins just for shiggles.

    3. This was never a thing. I was taught to follow my own path and come to my own conclusions. I was never taught one way or the other. See, my parents believed in bringing up daughters who were strong, smart, and could make their own decisions. As of yet I have not heard a good argument or seen proof for the existence of any god. It is not that someone has told me, it is that I have done my own searching and the religious side always comes up short because there is absolutely no demonstrable proof for me to accept it as fact.

    4. No. Just no. It is not one or the other. Not at all. I don’t think any of the things you mentioned have ever crossed my mind the way you are presenting them. Sure there are things that I take credit for. I have four degrees, all of which I worked my bum off to achieve. I was the one who spent the long hours studying, writing exams, sitting in lectures, researching, interning, etc. I am also the one who has been raising my daughter, who built my house, who has travelled around the world, and anything else I’ve done in my life has happened because I made it happen. I am also the one who was the cause of all the mistakes, poor choices, bad grades, stupid relationships, bad jobs, etc. Until you or someone else can prove that a god exists I will continue to take credit for both the good and bad in my life.

    5. I do not really understand what you are saying here at all.

    I have always been an atheist. I was raised by awesome parents (who are still happily together after 43 years) who did not push god on me because they believe it to be my life, my choice. They guided me, gave their input, etc, but never pushed. I am an atheist because, as I said above, after much searching and studying, I have yet to see demonstrable proof of a deity. It is really that simple. All of this other stuff that religious people think atheists are is generally incorrect. I will applaud you for not bringing up the tired argument of ‘you hate god’ or ‘you had a bad experience with a church’.

  2. Gertrude says:

    I don’t know if your post is supposed to be directed towards atheists? In any case the post does not resonate with me because none of your points apply to me. The reasons I don’t believe in God have nothing to do with any of the things on your list. I don’t believe in your god for the same reason I don’t believe in the gods of any other religions. The creation story is not more convincing that any creation stories in other religions. God has not made himself known to me any more than the gods of other religions (i.e. no gods have made themselves known to me). In my life so far there has just been no reason for me to believe in God (your god or any other).

    I’d be interested in a post where you explain:
    1. Why the existance of your God is more likely to be true than the existance of all the other gods that other religions believe in. (If I’m going to believe a religion, why should it be this one?)
    2. Why the existance of a god is more likely to be true than the absence of any gods. (The absence of any gods seems far more likely to me simply since I have never seen or experienced any.)

    1. Tidbitter says:

      Gertrude, J and I agree that this was a really helpful comment. We’ll be sure to cover these questions shortly.

      1. Gertrude says:

        Cool, in that case I might stick around, though I can’t promise to convert 😉

    2. Tidbitter says:

      Lol, I can respect that! Can we still try? 😉

  3. Deb says:

    There are so many reasons that I don’t believe in the Christian concept of god that it is difficult for me to articulate just one reason. Ray Comfort has accused atheist of disbelieving just so that they can ‘sin’. If this was true, I would need to add a little excitement to my life-maybe I could throw in a couple of orgies. My life is pretty monogamous and normal for a middle aged woman who has been married over two decades. LOL Many Christians believe in evolution so I am not certain why evolution is even a reason for people to become atheists.

    One major problem that I have with the Christian concept of god is his omni traits(omniscient, omnipotent, omnipresence) You end up with an all knowing, all perfect, all powerful god who is perfectly just. Such a being would contradict itself. If god is all powerful, all knowing and everywhere why let children be raped? If you see a crime and can prevent it but don’t, you are evil.

    Many Christians would bring up the concept of freewill. Free will is based on the fact that god wants humans to decide to love him on their own. To the religious Christian this is beautiful. To me, it is sickening. God allows children to be raped, tortured, maimed, forced into child prostitution or to be soldiers so that humans will decide to love him. That is selfish

    Of course, you probably have another out for facing that the Christian concept of god is pretty jerkish. Some Christians like to say, that humans brought sin into the world. Remember, this god is all powerful and knows everything including the past and future. So, in the entire world, he decided to put a forbidden tree in a garden with two people who didn’t quite know right from wrong and he let a creature who wants them to fail wander into their safe home. Again remember, this god is supposed to know EVERYTHING. He knew what would happen.Why, because he wanted humans to love him.

    There are many religions in the world. If I believed in a higher power, I could not worship the Christian god because he is ultimately evil, narcissistic being.

    The bigger question is why do you want to worship a symbol of cruelty and evil.

    1. Mags says:

      Well said. I’ve often stated that even if the Christian god came and proved himself to me I would spit in his face. I’d take hell over worshiping such an evil, evil creature.

      1. Taryn says:

        The thing is, is that most atheist don’t misunderstand god. They do, they just think he is horrible. The bloggers are going at this under the assumption that if atheist could just understand god they would believe and love the Christian god. I understand the god of the Bible and find nothing in him worth worshipping. Hell would be spending an eternity with a god who thinks drowning innocent children, babies and people is okay.

    2. Anonymous says:

      My deconversion happened for similar reasons. The attributed triad of an omnipotent omnipresent and omnibenevolent god is inconsistent with there being evil in the world. And, the traditional answers to that (namely free will) were never satisfying to me. It made me think- what happens when we go to heaven? Our souls are the same, yet there is no sin, so, either we do not have free will on heaven (and it must not have been such an important thing after all) or we have additional knowledge and restraint that we somehow don’t have on earth. Moreover, god could have easily given us this knowledge and restraint here on earth and chose not to. Not a very benevolent god if you ask me.

    3. Tidbitter says:

      Hi Deb,
      I too will tell you that the reason bad things happen, even to children, is from free will. Yes, God could have made us robots, from the very beginning, complete with a constant, and perfectly articulated “I love you,” every 10 seconds. Or, He could have never made us at all, especially knowing how many of us are corrupt blow-its. Instead, He gave us a choice starting way back with the first man and woman. I’m sure you appreciate that your significant other enjoys you, flaws and all, and likewise you with them. We like knowing that person had a choice to spend time with us, learn about us, and us from them. It’s a relationship. We can not have a relationship with a robot.
      God is responsible for the fact of freedom, but humans are responsible for our acts of freedom.
      I believe, after numerous encounters with Him, and watching His personal relationships with others that are in my life, that God’s justice will be exercised, on those who have hurt His children, and yet His deep love prevail.
      I realize this is nowhere near what you wanted to hear from us. Or, it just confirmed what you already knew..that my best friend J and I are just a predictable couple of Bible believing fundamentalists that irk like a splinter. We just honestly know that what we see now is like looking through a dim window, and that one day all will come into focus. We know that God’s intellect far surpasses any genius here, and choose to trust that His perspective is crystal clear.

  4. Bumneilous says:

    I am agnostic
    1)Evolution does happen we may not have come from monkeys but the first people on earth were very different from people today…evolution.

    2) yes sin is fun but I am not living a boring life. I dont want to look back when Im 90 and think “at least I was safe and I might go to heaven” I think people take the bible to far. I am not saying I am going to kill anyone, or do drugs but I will smoke marijuana but that is grown from the earth.
    Genesis 9:3 – Every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you; even as the green herb have I given you all things.
    Psalms 104:14-15 – He causeth the grass to grow for the cattle, and herb for the service of man:
    See I can prove my points with the bible too.

    3) I am not a sheep I do not blindly follow what anybody says. If I think there statement has validity to it I will do my own research and arrive at my own conclusions. Believe it or not I can think for myself.

    4) Life is not shitty or better because of God. Its your choices in life and the others around you. Everything happens for a reason you learn from everything in life. I feel bad for those who are raised sheltered when they are thrown into the real world it sucks for them.

    5) Truth is hard facts and evidence to support that. Show me that and I will believe.

    1. Mindy Button says:

      We did not ‘come from monkeys’. The only people who say that are creationists who are being flippant. We share common ancestors with other primates (because we are also primates) with our closest genetic relative being the bonobo. We did not, nor does anyone who actually understands evolution, every say that we came from monkeys.

  5. Mags says:

    I simply believe in one fewer god than you do. I don’t believe in your god for the very reasons you don’t worship all the others. That’s really the simplest way to explain it, I think.

    Your list shows that you probably haven’t spent a lot of time talking to atheists about why they don’t have spiritual beliefs. Oh, and please show me some proof that atheists “sin” any more than the religious, even with issues that we don’t consider sinful, such as premarital sex, divorce, etc. I’m pretty sure the opposite is true. I know right from wrong because I’m a caring, compassionate, empathetic person, not because I want to please my skydaddy or fear eternity in hell.

    I was given complete freedom growing up to explore and come to my own conclusions and I’m so very thankful to my parents (both atheists) for not brainwashing me or ever displaying judgment when I went to church things with friends. To me, the idea of a god was always fictional. I still remember being an older kid and realizing that people who went to church and prayed and all that actually believed it was real. It was mind-boggling to me, a kid who always felt like she did when watching a play or reading a work of fiction. It didn’t even occur to me that people were taking it seriously. I doubt a childhood of brainwashing, either for or against religion, would have made me any different than I am today, anyway. I’m very happy and comfortable with the person I am, and believe me, nothing is lacking in my life.

    1. Tidbitter says:

      Hi Mags, thanks for your thoughts. I don’t think for a second that atheists “sin any more than the religious”. I know I’ve never stated it anywhere because I’ve never thought it. I mentioned the sin issue simply because that’s what comes up in conversation when speaking with unbelievers. For instance I’ll typically out of curiosity ask someone why when they tell me they have no belief in God, or at least the God of the Bible. The typical answer is simply an inexperience with any deity, and in further conversation the person will usually add, “but at least I’m actually enjoying my life, and not surrendering to a list of Don’ts…”
      Basically, we’ll do what we want, when we want, because this is my life, and I’m going to live it to the fullest. I get it. I truly do. It’s interesting to me, enlightening even, to hear so many people think that followers of Jesus are lacking something in their lives. Brains, for belief and faith? Education, because we’ve rejected specific philosophy? Fun, because we’re not out partying and sleeping around? Lol. My life is…unbelievable. My days are full of laughter, hugs and kisses from my children, friends, passionate nights with the only man I’ve ever been intimate with since my wedding night. All that was chosen “in complete freedom” as well, and “coming to my own conclusions.”
      I am genuinely glad you feel that there’s nothing lacking. I feel the same.

  6. L.M. says:

    ‘The’ should be ‘They’, ‘their’ should be ‘they’re’.

  7. L.M. says:

    A lot of these points are really stupid. The seem to be designed to be unsubtle digs at atheists (suggesting their selfish, ungrateful, easily led, or just bad people). I don’t think many people are atheists for the reasons you state. Did you just pick this stuff because you think it will be easy to rebut?

    1. Olivia says:

      I have never heard an atheist come up with any of those points either, so I’m ein bisschen confused here, you know. Here’s an interview with an actual atheist: http://thesweethummingunderground.blogspot.se/2012/11/interview-with-atheist_27.html

      1. Tidbitter says:

        Hi Olivia, I did read this interview. Of course this was just one person’s perspective. I posted mine. Thanks.

    2. Tidbitter says:

      If you don’t see yourself in this list, that’s ok. You don’t have to.

  8. Bal says:

    I don’t believe in God, but not for any of the reasons you state. You can’t philosophically disprove God’s existence, any more than you can prove that he exists. It’s simply a leap of faith, one way or the other (i.e. that God exists, or s/he doesn’t). You have to go with what you believe in your heart to be true, and I do not believe in my heart that there is a God up there.

    Also, for the record, scientists don’t believe evolution is ‘true’, they believe it is a theory, which is something different: a theory is the best possible explanation given the evidence we have at this moment. That does not mean that evolution is a belief system – if you provide science with a better explanation given the existing evidence, they will change their views and accept it.

  9. Lyss says:

    Hello, I do not know if I refer to myself as an atheist, perhaps more agnostic. I do know that no religion worls for me. I can’t force myself to believe anything. I have a craving for truth, and while I know I haven’t found it yet, I personally don’t believe you have either (that said, I do support your religious beliefs). So let’s get started on your list.

    1) I was taught that evolution was a lie. I grew up with that belief pretty engrained in my thoughts. It wasn’t until I decided to read EVERYTHING that I could from BOTH sides that I realized it was fact. I was still a Christian when I came to this realization. I learned that believing in science and religion does not HAVE to be mutually exclusive. I also knew the only way religion could work for me is if there are some facts involved.

    2) I was pretty young when I decided religion was not for me. I found that the Christians in my life are often very narrow minded and judgemental. I saw people being treated badly by the same people who claimed to follow Christ. I was an excellent kid. I was incredibly well behaved and kept myself out of trouble, even after coming to the realization that religion was not for me. I do not sleep around. I do not steal. I do not lie, I am overcome with remorse the times I have tried to. I am still an atheist, but I am honest, loving, and kind. I am a great person, and I don’t have a book telling me I have to be.

    3)I would say the opposite is true for me. For so long I questioned and researched. I read the Bible at a young age and had the margins filled with questions and comments. I would bring them to pastors and family members and try to believe. Sometimes, it would work and I would pray for an answer to my doubts, to be relieved of my constant questions. Eventually, I realized I was just letting the pastor’s tell me what to believe. Then I started studying science more. I looked at the facts, and came to my own conclusion. Some people see the same facts and except both religion and science as truth. To each their own.

    4)You may have gotten me on this. Although, I believed in god and praised him at a time when my life was very bad as well as at times when my life was going very well. The part you called me out on is God allowing so much evil. To me, your god could not possibly be all-knowing, all-powerful, and good and allow so many to suffer.

    5) Truth is not subjective, not at all. I actively seek out the truth and have found your religion to not be false. You feel it is the truth. I think you are wrong, but I also think you have the right to be wrong. I know you believe I am wrong. That said, there are times I wonder if there are many paths to the same truth, I know that is not something you could ever accept.

  10. Eileen says:

    Why do you assume only atheists believe in evolution?

  11. Shayn Roby says:

    Reblogged this on shaynroby and commented:
    Before we accepted Christ, us believers found multiple excuses and reasons to discount the Master, and Lucifer, the Prince of this World, was always eager to aid and abet our ignorance.

  12. Shayn Roby says:

    I have a degree in biology and have taught evolution before through the lense that I expect my students to know evolutionary theory, but not necessarily BELIEVE it. If students ask what I think, I tell them that the universe is way to orderly and marvelous to have occurred by chance, in fact statistical probability makes it almost certain that our universe must have a Creator. Of course, I believe that Creator was, is, and will always be Jehovah. Praise be to the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

    1. Tidbitter says:

      I LOVE and appreciate your comment! It’s nice to meet an instructor of the sciences who can teach material with great care! Too many teach ‘facts’ without substantial evidence, and sway young people from the God that passionately loves them. Two thumbs up for you, and if you ever feel like backing up a post of mine, feel free, bro!
      Audra

    2. Mags says:

      I would be extremely upset if you were my child’s biology teacher. I really hope you were teaching at a private school.

      1. Anon says:

        I have a question. Why don’t you believe in Poseidon?

Leave a Reply

