God is Real; Divine Appointments: part 1 of however many I can think of…

It wasn’t possible. It had to be some kind of joke.

A Saturday night, no kids, driving to a friends house, I roll down the windows and sing to the Christian radio at the top of my lungs. You know the times where there’s no one around, and no one to laugh at you. The wind in my hair, and the dark hiding my features, I start to laugh at at myself. I’m singing a song to God, loud, vertical words of praise rising out the window of my SUV, and I start laughing. I realize how dorky I would be to anyone who could recognize me. I check my lip gloss in the rear view mirror, toss my hair, and say out loud to be heard over the song, ” oh Lord, I wonder what you think of me when I do this…when I’m singing out loud, God, and so off key!” I laugh to myself, and continue my song. ¬†Pulling into my friends driveway, and turning off the ignition immediate silence permeates the surroundings. I gather my purse, my bible, and the cookies I’ve made for our time together. As I enter her house, there are a few women who I have never met, and one focuses her gaze on me intently, much as an eagle does when it spots a morsel to eat. Making the rounds, I introduce myself, allow my friend Tamara’s hug to envelope me, and notice eagle-eye still intently watching me. Sitting down on the couch, I smile radiantly at this woman who now I’m trying really hard to place. Do I know her? Should I remember this woman’s name? I mentally chastise myself. Sitting across from me, Eagle-eye, this beautiful, middle-aged, blonde woman leans forward, smiles shyly and says my name. Pointing her finger gently in my direction, she says, “God loves you so much. I’m supposed to tell you that He loves when you sing to Him. Out loud, off key, it doesn’t matter. Jesus loves when you worship Him! And, I’m supposed to tell you that He rejoices over you with singing.” Then she wrote down a paper full of what God had shown her for me, which I still carry with me in my Bible today. She then quoted the verse in Zephaniah chapter 3 verse 17. It says,

“The Lord your God in your midst, the Mighty One will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

Coincidence? Nope, providence.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    love it, keep on singing, the LORD will sing with you.

  2. Wow, what a wonderful testimony!

Leave a Reply

