God’s Not a Genie in a Bottle

 

I made You promises a thousand times
I tried to hear from heaven, but I talked the whole time
I think I made You too small
I never feared You at all, no..
If You touched my face would I know You?
looked into my eyes..could I behold You?
 
What do I know of You who spoke me into motion
Where have I even stood, but the soil along Your ocean?
Are you fire, are you fury, are you sacred, are You beautiful?
so what do I know…What do I know of Holy?
 
I guess I thought that I had figured You out
I knew all the stories..and I learned to talk about
How you were mighty to save…but those were only empty Words on a page..
then I caught a glimpse of who you might be
a slightest hint of You, brought me down to my knees
 
so what do I know…what do I know of Holy?
What do I know of Those that will heal my shame.. and a God who gave life it’s name
What do I know of Holy? Of the One who the angels praise..
all of creation knows your Name
On earth and Heaven above, what do I know of this Love?
 
What do I know of Holy by Addison Road
 
Have you ever thought about God? What about Jesus?
Made promises to Him if He’ll land your turbulent plane safely?
/Stock Images: View From A Plane Picture. Image: 20234
© Photographer Alexander Briel Perez | Agency: Dreamstime.com
Tell Him you’ll do whatever He wants if this…or if that?.. I have. I wrongly have.

God is not a genie that we can conjure up out of some distant place when we want something…or someone. Find the missing sock, Lord. Make me skinnier God. Help that person to fall in love with me Lord! We boss the creator of the universe around to fulfill our every wish like a servant.

He already knows your hearts desires, those you love, what you want, and your irreverent plans. 

He sees the amazing things you do for others, and the honest and real way that you judge how someone else looks, or speaks.

He already sees your sin.
He knows your past.
He has a deep longing to clean you up, wash you off, forgive you, and see you walking uprightly alongside Him.
 God is a person who thinks, and knows people, and has relationships, and speaks and feels.
 Jesus came to earth and had friendships, conversations, ate meals and spent time loving others. He didn’t make you and I so he could be at our beck and call. Although He often is.
It’s the other way around. Friends, it’s the other way around. You may have a great big problem with this, but we were created to worship Him.
We were created to be His family. We were created to glorify Him, point others to Him, and were made for Him, and through Him.
Stop making promises you cannot keep. Stop bossing the Creator around, and ask God how you can serve Him today. It just might be that you find your fulfillment and your purpose.
“..that you may be filled with all wisdom and spiritual understanding, that you may walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing Him, being fruitful in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God; strengthened with all might, according to His glorious power, for all patience and longsuffering with joy; giving thanks to the Father who has qualified us to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in the light. He has delivered us from the power of darkness, and conveyed us into the kingdom of the Son of his love, in whom we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins.” Collossians1:9-14
 
